Schrader Wins The Burlsworth Trophy

University of Missouri running back Cody Schrader was named the fourteenth winner of the Burlsworth Trophy at a ceremony held in Bentonville, Arkansas Monday night.

The award is given to the nation’s most outstanding player who began his career as a walk-on. Other finalists for the award were James Carpenter, noseguard from James Madison and Drake Stoops, receiver from Oklahoma.

Schrader came to Mizzou after leading Division II in rushing at Truman State. The St. Louis native produced more than 700 rushing yards last season. This season, Schrader leads the SEC in rushing with 1,499 yards and 13 touchdowns. Monday afternoon, Schrader was named First-Team All-SEC by the Associated Press.

Eli Drinkwitz was named the SEC Coach of the Year, after leading the Tigers to a 10-2 season and a bid to the Cotton Bowl. Other First-Team Tigers are receiver Luther Burden III, left tackle Javon Foster, defensive end Darius Robinson and defensive back Kris Abrams-Draine. Earning Second-Team honors were guard Cam’Ron Johnson and kicker Harrison Mevis.