Major League Baseball and the players union have agreed to expand the league’s postseason field from ten to 16 teams for the 2020 season. The announcement began just as the first game of the pandemic shortened season began with a game between the Washington Nationals and New York Yankees tonight. The new format will feature eight, best-of-three Wild Card series preceding the Division Series. This means the top two teams in each division will advance to the postseason, with the next two best records in each league also advancing. The higher seeded teams in the opening round will host all three games in order to cut down on travel. MLB’s 60 game regular season for 2020 will conclude September 27th. The postseason will then begin September 29th.