Top Seeds Setup Anticipated Semifinals in Class 2 District 7 Tournament

The two through four seeds all won their opening round games Monday night in the Class 2 District 7 Boys Tournament at New Franklin High School.

Fourth-seeded Harrisburg defeated fifth-seeded Fayette 84-59 to conclude the night’s action. The Bulldogs’ offense set the tone early.

Colin Schowe with the call on 99.9 The Captain and with the call of two of Trace Combs’ 29 points as the Bulldogs raced out to an early 12-3 lead. Braden Wyatt and Hayven Samuels added 14 points apiece. Harrisburg coach Kyle Fisher said he was pleased with his team’s strong start.

The Bulldogs built a 42-18 halftime lead at halftime. Fayette fought back in the third quarter to cut the deficit to 14. Payton Oeth led the Falcons with 16 points. Fayette coach Jon Bishop reflected on his senior class.

Fayette concludes the season at 7-19. Harrisburg improves to 17-10 and will face top-seed Westran Wednesday in the semifinal round.

New Franklin picked up a 74-53 win over Slater. Trailing by 20, Slater scored eight straight points in the third quarter to cut into the deficit but that was followed by 15 straight from the Bulldogs to pull away. Clayton Wilmsmeyer and Drake Clark each scored 18. Jake Marshall put in 17. Coach Jim Schlotzhauer…

New Franklin improves to 24-3. Slater was led by Brandon Terrill’s 21 points. Keiton Head had 14. Coach Dillon Yung’s Wildcats were missing Grayson Zdybel, who was out with an ankle injury.

Slater’s season ends at 13-14.

Second-seeded Salisbury opened the night with an 82-31 romp over seventh-seeded Santa Fe. Twelve different Panthers scored in the game with Cooper Francis leading all scorers with 24 points. Salisbury coach Kenny Wyatt said he was pleased with his team’s offensive execution.

Salisbury improves to 23-3 on the season and will face New Franklin in Wednesday’s semifinal. Emmett Finkeldei led Santa Fe with twelve points. The Chiefs conclude the season at 7-17.

Harrisburg coach Kyle Fisher

New Franklin coach Jim Schlotzhauer

Salisbury coach Kenny Wyatt

Fayette coach Jon Bishop

Slater coach Dillon Yung