An honor guard retires the flag flown over the Missouri State Highway Patrol building, next to the main turnstiles of the Missouri State Fairgrounds, on Aug. 18, 2021. The flag was presented to Jack Sandwith of Slater, honored at the day's Military Flag Retreat Ceremony, held during the 119th Missouri State Fair.

The Missouri State Fair has announced the 11 honorees for this year’s daily Military Flag Retreat ceremonies.  First conducted in 2019, the ceremony outside the Highway Patrol building at the main gate to the fairgrounds recognizes active duty and retired military personnel from across Missouri, who were selected among nominees submitted earlier this year.  Each day’s Flag Retreat Ceremony will take place at 5:30, with the exception of August 11th when the ceremony will occur at 5:15.

Honorees from our region include Roy Sims of Marshall on August 13th, John Hopson of Columbia on August 14th, and Dean Rhine of Rocheport on August 19th.

Date Honoree Branch
Aug. 11, 5:15p Alicia Barlor, Richland Army
Aug. 12, 5:30p Robert P Westfall Jr, Maryville Army
Aug. 13, 5:30p Roy Sims, Marshall Marine Corps
Aug. 14, 5:30p John D Hopson, Columbia Army
Aug. 15, 5:30p Robert Norton, Lincoln Navy
Aug. 16, 5:30p Ross Chambers, Warrensburg Army
Aug. 17, 5:30p Jim Heitmeyer, Carrollton Air Force
Aug. 18, 5:30p Randy Smith, Smithton Air Force
Aug. 19, 5:30p Charles “Dean” Rhine, Rocheport Army
Aug. 20, 5:30p Glen M Brock, Norborne Army
Aug. 21, 5:30p Justin Moreland, Rich Hill Marine Corps