New Firearms Deer Season Designed to Prevent Spread of CWD

Beginning Wednesday, Missouri deer hunters in select area counties will be able to participate in a CWD (Chronic Wasting Disease) portion of the firearms deer season. This season includes Chariton, Macon, Adair, Linn, Sullivan, Putnam, Schuyler, Knox and Clark counties. Macon County Conservation Agent Jared Kelly…

Kelly adds the Missouri Department of Conservation’s efforts to limit the spread of CWD have been successful.

The CWD portion of the Missouri deer season runs through Sunday. The late youth season is this Friday through Sunday. Meanwhile, the archery season resumes Wednesday and runs through January 15th.