New Firearms Deer Season Begins Wednesday

Hunters in select area counties will have the opportunity to participate in the new CWD (Chronic Wasting Disease) portion of firearms deer season beginning Wednesday. Macon County Conservation Agent Jared Kelly…

This season includes Macon, Chariton, Linn, Adair, Sullivan, Putnam, Schuyler, Knox and Scotland counties. Kelly says hunters in these counties can only participate if they have tags to fill.

CWD sampling isn’t required during this portion of deer season. The goal of the new season is to reduce further spread of CWD in Missouri.