Five of this year’s winners of the Missouri Corn Scholarship are from our area. Missouri Corn Growers Association and Missouri Corn Merchandising Council announced Thursday that the five students–Hailey Douglass of Shelbina, Hannah Persell of Trenton, Ryan Ragsdale of Holliday, Lauryn Robnett of Laddonia, and Sally Schmidt of Carrollton–will each receive a one-thousand dollar scholarship. The five honorees were scored by a committee and evaluated on essays, applications, letters of reference, current grades and activities. All five will attend the University of Missouri in the fall. The scholarship program is in its 24th year, recognizing Missouri students who plan to major in agronomy or a related field at a Missouri college or university. Two students in southwest Missouri will also receive this year’s scholarships.