Defending State Champion Salisbury Wins Fourth Straight District Title

The defending state champion Salisbury Panthers are district champions for a fourth straight season. They beat the New Franklin Bulldogs 56-42 Saturday. New Franklin led 12-4 early but Salisbury came back with a 9-0 run to end the first quarter.

Austin Ward with the calls on 99.9 The Captain and Salisbury never trailed after that. Cooper Francis finished with a game-high 20 points. The Panthers pushed their lead to 10 in the second quarter. New Franklin cut the deficit to two four different times in the third quarter but Salisbury answered with a bucket each time. Coach Kenny Wyatt…

The Panthers pulled away in the fourth.

Mason Stapleton scored 15 and Hayden Wooldridge 11. New Franklin got 15 from Drake Clark and 10 by Tanner Bishop. Coach Jim Schlotzhauer said he liked the flow of his offense.

The Bulldogs end the year 23-4 with three of those losses coming to Salisbury.

The Panthers improve to 24-2 and will play at either Tipton or Northwest (Hughesville) Tuesday.

That game tips at 7 tonight.



Salisbury coach Kenny Wyatt:

New Franklin coach Jim Schlotzhauer: